An initiative of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops

Marriage in Literature Series


A series on Marriage in Literature, written by staff at the USCCB, is meant to bring out just a few of the lessons about marriage that are supplied by works of literature.  It will not go into great depth on any one given work, but will simply draw out three or four aspects about marriage and family life that the work suggests. Previous knowledge of the plots of each novel will be presumed!

Here are the books that will be discussed:

  1. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne (Read series here)Two silver wedding rings linked together
  2. That Hideous Strength by C.S. Lewis (Read series here)
  3. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
    (Read series here)
  4. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens (Read series here)
  5. Strong Poison, Gaudy Night, and Busman’s Honeymoon by Dorothy Sayers (Read series here)
  6. Persuasion by Jane Austen (Read series here)
  7. “Parker’s Back” (short story) by Flannery O’Connor (Reflection to be posted)

2 responses to “Marriage in Literature Series”

  1. Susan says:

    I’m really looking forward to this. I’m somewhat familiar with these works and their authors but, haven’t actually fully read any of them. I will check them out as needed, in my local library. Thanks so much.

    • DOM says:

      Great! You may want to wait to read the posts until after you read the books, since there may be spoilers! If you want to do that, when you come back to the site the posts will all be filed under “Marriage in Literature” on the sidebar, so they should be easy to find.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.